The government of India had announced the winners of Padma Awards for the year 2017. This year Padma Awardees list includes names of individuals who had served the nation in their respective fields like arts, sports, social work, literature, and others.

Padma Awards History:

Padma awards were instituted in the year 1954 and will be announced every year on the eve of Republic Day. The awards were given in three categories, namely Padma Vibhushan, Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri.

• Padma Vibhushan for exceptional and distinguished service
• Padma Bhushan for distinguished service of a high order
• Padma Shri for distinguished service.

This year center has received an enormous list of 1,730 nominations in which 150 recipients were chosen by the committee for this prestigious civilian award. This year there will be no recipient for the highest civilian award Bharat Ratna

ICC Awards 2016: Full List of Award Winners

Every year the Padma Awards Committee was formed by the Prime Minister of India and cabinet secretary will be heading it. The panel will include Home Secretary, Secretary of President, and other eminent personalities.

The team of members will select the list based up on several priorities and recommendations made by the state governments. The Final list of recommendations would be sent to the President of India and Prime Minister for Final approval.

This year many unsung heroes were included alongside with famous personalities. The Padma awardees 2017 include Famous Chef Shri Sanjeev Kapoor, singers Kailash Kher and Anuradha Paudwal. Indian Cricket team Captain Virat kohli, Wrestler Sakshi Malik and Gymnast Dipa Karmakar.

Complete List of Padma Awardees 2017