The prestigious awards of cricket ICC Awards 2016 list was released by the council just a few hours back and this time two Indian cricketers Ashwin and Virat Kohli got the best appreciation for their performance in Tests and ODIs.

All-rounder Ashwin won the ICC Cricketer of the year and the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year in 2016 ICC Awards. He is the only Indian player who got a place in ICC’s Test Team of the year. Moreover, Indian Test Captain Virat Kohli named as Captain of the ICC ODI team of the year and apart from that another two best players Ravindra Jadeja and Rohit Sharma also highlighted in that team.

L&T to Build World’s Biggest Cricket Stadium at Motera

Responding to his win, Spinner R. Ashwin said, “I am delighted to get a place in ICC Awards 2016. I felt proud, and it is a great honor to me. Earlier Sachin and Rahul Dravid won in ICC Cricketer of the year award, and now it seems great to follow the likes of those great players in being named as ICC Cricketer of the Year. I am euphoric to win two awards in 2016 ICC Awards and thanks to the whole team of the council to nominate him for these awards.

I would like to give this award to my family who encourages me a lot.  I would also thank ICC and especially my teammates who supported me. We had a great changeover ever since MS Dhoni became captain of the team. Dhoni has done a lot of hard work, and his good captaincy made us so bright and no we have a lot of good and talented players in the team.”

Ashwin won the Sir Garfield Sobers trophy after becoming the cricketer of the year. Coming to the test cricket, Kohli did two double centuries this year but however Kohli being overlooked as skipper and finally, he won the award of the captain of the ICC ODI Team 2016.

Interestingly, England Captain Alastair Cook has been named the Skipper of the Test team. It is a big boost to him after a 4-0 loss in the Test Series in England.

Former Indian player Rahul Dravid, Former Srilanka Captain Kumar Sangakkara, and South Africa determined Gary Kirsten was on the panel that selected the ICC Test and ODI teams of the year.

ICC ODI Team of the Year: Virat Kohli©, David Warner, De Kock, Rohit Sharma, AB De Villiers, Jos Butler, Mitchell Marsh, Ravindra Jadeja, Mitchell Starc, Kagiso Rabada, Suni Narien and Imran Tahir.

ICC Test Team of the Year 2016

David Warner, Alastair Cook (C), Kane Williamson, Joe Root, Steve Smith, Adam Voges, Jonny Bairstow, Ben Stokes, Ravichandran Ashwin, Rangana Herath, Mitchell Starc, Dale Steyn.

2016 ICC Awards Winners List

  • ICC Cricketer of the Year (Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy) – Ravichandran Ashwin (India)
  • ICC Test Cricketer of the Year – Ravichandran Ashwin (India)
  • ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year – Quinton de Kock (South Africa)
  • ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year – Suzie Bates (New Zealand)
  • ICC Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year – Suzie Bates (New Zealand)
  • ICC T20I Performance of the Year – Carlos Brathwaite (West Indies ) (34 not out, 10 balls, 1×4, 4×6, ICC WT20 India 2016 final v England, Kolkata)
  • ICC Emerging Cricketer of the Year – Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh)
  • ICC Associate/Affiliate Cricketer of the Year – Mohammad Shahzad (Afghanistan)
  • ICC Spirit of Cricket Award – Misbah-ul-Haq (Pakistan)
  • ICC Umpire of the Year (David Shepherd Trophy) – Marais Erasmus


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here