Rio Paralympic 2016 games are fruitful for Indian athletes till now. They have bagged 2 gold medals, 1 Silver Medal and 1 bronze medal for the country. The silver medal is bagged by a women athlete, Deepa Malik in Women’s Shot put-F53 on 12th September.

Deepa Malik’s throw of 4.61m from her six attempts placed her in second spot. Bahrain’s Fatema Nedham stood in the first spot as her throw measured 4.76m distance. Third spot was occupied by Greece women Dimitra Korokida with a throw of 4.28m.

Paralympic Committee of India has announced 19 athlete competitor names to participate in the Rio Paralympic 2016 games. Out of 19 athletes, 16 are Men and 3 are Women participants. India is participating in 5 sports held at Brazil’s Rio de Janeiro starting from 7th to 18th September 2016. Power lifting, Swimming, Shooting, Archery and Athletics are the categories in which India is participating.

Rio Paralympics 2016: List of Indian Athletes

Deepa Malik has become the first women paralympian to clinch a medal in Paralympics. Deepa is a Paralysed women from waist to legs. She is a paraplegic since 17 years. She also holds the record to become the first women to participate as a biker, swimmer, rally driver and now the Paralympian medalist. She also the first paraplegia women to participate in one of the world’s highest and most difficult motor rallies in the Himalayas.

Deepa dedicated her medal to her husband, Children, skill Trainer and India. She also hoped that the medal winning will be inspirational to may disabled or handicapped persons first. After returning to India, she expressed her view that the Medal will motivate many women in the country to achieve what they dream of.

Rio Paralympics 2016: Thangavelu Wins Gold,Varun Bhati Clinches Bronze for India in Men’s High Jump

Hope that Deepa’s win will inspire many in the country to achieve something in their life without caring about the odds. Her life story is definitely the inspiring one. She underwent Spinal tumor operation and 31 surgeries. But she never restricted herself due to her disability. Sports Authority of India (SAI) has earlier announced a prize money for the winners of medals. Central Government of India will award the cash prize of Rs.75 lakhs for gold medalists, Rs.30 lakhs for silver medalists and Rs.10 lakhs for bronze medalists.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here