India won the Under-19 Asia Cup title beating Sri lanka by 34 runs to get the ACC Under-19 Asia Cup title at the Premadasa Cricket Stadium in Srilanka in the last evening. The Indian U-19 team had successfully defended their title against the host Sri Lankan team

Indian players Himanshu Rana and Prithvi Shaw had contributed 67 run partnership for the opening wicket and gave a solid start to India. Himanshu Rana (71) and Prithvi Shaw (39) provided their side and finally India made a respectable total of 273-8.

ICC Awards 2016: Full List of Award Winners

After Prithvi Shaw dismissal, Rana joined hands with Shubman Gill, who smashed a terrific 71 runs made 88 runs partnership for second wicket stand. Man of the Match Award has given to Abhishek Sharma for his extraordinary all-round performance in the match both in bowling and batting department.

However, Indian spinners have delivered a terrific bowling performance and restricted Srilanka to 239 in 48.4 overs. Coming to the Srilanka batting, Reven Kelly (62) and KaminduMendis (53) shines and stood as top scores in their batting side.

Abhishek Sharma picked up four wickets for just 37 runs while Rahul Chahar bagged three wickets. Yash Thakur also hewed in with a wicket to help India preserve the title successfully.

Moreover, Himanshu Rana who scored a match-winning century in the semifinal grabbed the ‘Man of the Series’ award.

L&T to Build World’s Biggest Cricket Stadium at Motera

Coming to Sri Lanka side, pacer NipunRansika (3/50) and left-arm spinner Praveen Jayawicrama (3/53) shared six wickets between them.

The hosts at one stage made a superb score of 196 for four in just 37.4 overs, and later they lost wickets in a heap to lose hold of the match. In last ten overs, Sri lanka lost six wickets for just 43 runs and finally emerged as losers.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here