supreme court BCCI

The Supreme Court of India had appointed a Four-member committee for looking after the administration of BCCI. After sacking Anurag Thakur, the SC on today had made former CAG Mr. Vinod Rai as the new boss of the Board of Cricket Control in India.

The Four-member panel consists of Ramachandra Guha, famous historian, Diana Edulji former Women’s Cricket Team Captain and Vikram Limaye, CEO and MD of IDFC Limited.

BCCI Administration Committee was expected to announce a week ago, but on AG Mukul Rohtagi’s request of extension, SC made it happen today.

ICC Awards 2016: Full List of Award Winners

Supreme Court Justice Dipak Misra called BCCI to submit the proposed candidates for the administrative committee in a sealed cover. The Court also asked the board to recommend three members for representing BCCI in the upcoming ICC meeting.

Following the court orders, Anil Divan, Gopal Subramaniam, and the amicus curiae had submitted a sealed envelope that has nine names in it.

Supreme Court bench that consisting of  Justice Dipak Misra, Justice AM Khanwilkar and Justice DY Chandrachud opined that a nine-member committee would be long and asked the BCCI to revise the list as they have few objections on the age of some executives. They stated that people above 70 are not eligible for the post of administrators.

The only former cricketer in the panel was Edulji. She had played 20 Tests and 34 One-Day Internationals for India.The Supreme Court also appointed Amitabh Chaudhary and Limaye as representatives of BCCI for the ICC meetings scheduled in February.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here