The sports ministry of India announced the list of the highest sports honour Rajiv Khel Ratna awardees for this year. The Rio Olympics medallists ace shuttler PV. Sindhu and wrestler Sakshi Malik will be conferred with the prestigious award along with Gymnast Dipa Karmakar and shooter Jitu Rai.

Rajiv Khel Ratna award is given to sports persons for outstanding performance in the field over a period of four years. The award consists of a cash prize of Rs.7.5 lakh along with a medal and a citation.

  • PV Sindhu - Badminton
  • Dipa Karmakar - Gymnastics
  • Jitu Rai - Shooting
  • Sakshi Malik –Wrestling

The government has also announced Dronacharya Award, the honour for excellence in sports coaching. The list of the awardees is to Nagapuri Ramesh (Athletics), Sagar Mal Dhayal (Boxing), Raj Kumar Sharma (Cricket), Bishweshwar Nandi (Gymnastics), S. Pradeep Kumar (Swimming, Lifetime) and Mahabir Singh (Wrestling, Lifetime).

PV Sindhu Becomes First Indian Daughter to bag Olympic Silver Medal

Dhyan Chand Award for their life-time contribution to sports development will be awarded to Satti Geetha (Athletics), Sylvanus Dung Dung (Hockey), Rajendra Pralhad Shelke (Rowing)

About 15 sports persons were conferred with Arjun Award for consistent performance in the last four years. Rajat Chauhan (Archery), Lalita Babar (Athletics), Sourav Kothari (Billiards & Snooker), Shiva Thapa (Boxing), Ajinkya Rahane (Cricket), Subrata Paul (Football), Rani (Hockey), Raghunath V.R. (Hockey), Gurpreet Singh (Shooting), Apurvi Chandela (Shooting), Soumyajit Ghosh (Table Tennis), Vinesh (Wrestling), Amit Kumar (Wrestling), Sandeep Singh Mann (Para-Athletics), Virender Singh (Wrestling, Deaf).

Sakshi Malik wins Bronze in Women’s Wrestling: The First Indian Female Wrestling Olympic Medallist

The Selection Committee for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award and the Arjuna Award was headed by Justice S.K. Agarwal, retired Delhi High Court Judge and the Selection Committee for the Dronacharya Award and the Dhyan Chand Award was headed by M.C. Mary Kom.

Arjuna, Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand awardees will receive statuettes, certificates and a cash prize of Rs.5 lakh each.

These awards will be given by President of India, at Rashtrapati Bhawan on August 29.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here