Maharaja Express: One of the most costliest luxurious train in the World, Here is the Story behind “The Maharajas’ Express”

Do You Know? Maharajas’ Express, the luxurious train (also called as palace on wheels) which operated by Indian Railways. The luxury tourist train owned and operated by IRCTC (Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation. The luxury Maharaja Express runs across North – West and Central India between the months of October and April.

The service started in 2010 and voted for four times as “The World’s Leading Luxury Train” in 2012, 2013, 2014, and 2015 at the World Travel Awards. Maharajas’ Express is the most expensive luxury train in the world.

Kargil vijay diwas : Nation Pays tribute to Martyrs of Indian Army

What is the History of Maharaja’s Express?

Maharajas’ Express: Now You Can Travel With the King Like a King

The luxury train was exclusively operated by IRCTC whereas, in 2010, the service comes up with a joint venture of Indian Railway Catering and Tourism Corporation Limited (IRCTC) and Cox and Kings India Ltd and set up a company named as RIRTL (Royal Indian Rail Tours Ltd).

Maharajas Express has equipped with modern amenities with comfortable and luxurious board experiences to the guest. The amenities such as live television, wifi, attached bathroom, pneumatic suspension, bar, dining cars, lounge and souvenir shop and larger cabins have roll-top baths and spacious sitting rooms.

IRCTC To Launch Passenger Insurance And Unreserved Ticketing From September

The Luxury Trains in India having 23 carriages which bifurcated into 14 guests carriages and nine carriages for accommodation, bar, lounge, dining, generator and store cars and total passenger capacity in luxury train travel is 88.

Itineraries of Indian Railways Maharajas Express

Maharaja Express has five ways of journeys of which two are the short term golden triangle, and the rest of the three are long term plan.

The five tour routes of Maharaja Express are named as

  1. Heritage of India
  • Mumbai – Ajanta – Udaipur – Jodhpur – Bikaner – Jaipur – Ranthambore – Agra – Delhi in 7 nights/ 8 Days
  1. Treasures of India
  • Covers Delhi – Agra – Ranthambore – Jaipur – Delhi in 3 nights/ four days

  1. Gems of India
  • Covers Delhi – Agra – Ranthambore – Jaipur – Delhi in 3 nights/ four days
  1. Indian Panorama
  • Covers Delhi – Jaipur – Ranthambore – Fatehpur Sikri – Agra – Gwalior – Orchha – Khajuraho – Varanasi – Lucknow – Delhi in 7 Nights/ 8 Days
  1. The Indian Splendour
  • Covers Delhi – Agra – Ranthambore – Jaipur – Bikaner – Jodhpur – Udaipur – Balasinor – Mumbai in 7 Nights or 8 Days

India refuses to Extend Visas of 3 Journalists and China warns of Serious Consequence

The Maharajas Express Train which comprises of four category cabins

  • Deluxe Cabin: Total of 20 Suites and capacity of 40 passengers
  • Junior Suites: Total of 18 Suites and capacity of 36 passengers
  • Suites: Total of 4 Suites and capacity of 8 passengers
  • Presidential Suite: Total of 1 Double Suite and capacity of 4 passengers

Price or Rates for Maharajas Express Booking

The Maharaja Express costs

  1. Deluxe Cabin: $5980/ INR ₹ 4, 02, 812
  2. Junior Suites: $9460/ INR ₹ 6, 37,225
  3. Suites: $13800/ INR ₹ 9, 29568
  4. Presidential Suite: $23700/ INR ₹ 15, 96432

Maharajas’ Express received the 2016 Seven star Luxury Hospitality and Lifestyle Awards at Marbella in Spain.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here