Twelve nations are getting ready to compete for the Kabaddi World Cup 2016. As the India is all set to host the third edition of Kabaddi World Cup 2016, the International Kabaddi Federation officially starts the tournament in the presence captains of 12 competing nations.

It will be the first time that twelve countries will participate at one ground at the newly-equipped stadium known as “The Arena by TranStadia,” Ahmedabad. The International Kabaddi Federation is going to organize Kabaddi World Cup 2016 main event on 6th October.

India has been organizing all last seven seasons and the eighth season is going to happen at Ahmedabad, Gujarat from 7th October to 22 October 2016. Star Sports is the official broadcast of the Kabaddi World Cup tournament in India.

Disney to Promote 300 new Mobile Games in India

Pro Kabaddi League is the successful tournament for the last years. The number of viewership has also increased through all the seasons. In India after cricket, that much craze and number of viewers are there only for Kabaddi.

Seven-time champions team India is all gearing up to start the Kabaddi World Cup 2016 journey with India Squad against 11 nations. Indian team is the no.1 team in Kabaddi which has won all seven times till now, so India team will be favourite this year too.

In this year tournament, 12 teams are participating in the Kabaddi World Cup, and in those teams, Poland is going to play for the first time. But among them, India has won seven gold medals in the Kabaddi World Cup history.

The 12 teams that are going to participate in Kabaddi World Cup 2016 are:

  • India
  • United States of America
  • Kenya
  • England
  • Poland
  • Canada
  • Australia
  • Iran
  • Pakistan
  • Bangladesh
  • Korea
  • Japan

Anup Kumar who has been leading the India Squad and he is the experienced player in the team. Other players like Rahul Chaudhary, Manjeet Chillar and Sandeep Narwal who became the star players in Pro Kabaddi League.

Kabaddi Rules and Points System

Here is the list of selected 14 India Squad for Kabaddi World Cup 2016

  • Raiders- Anup Kumar (Captain), Rahul Chaudhary, Deepak Hooda, Pardeep Narwal, Jasvir Singh, Ajay Thakur
  • Defenders- Mohit Chillar, Surendra Nadda, Surjeet Singh, D Cherathalan and Kiran Parmar
  • All Rounder- Majeet Chillar, Nitin Tomar, Sandeep Narwal,

The schedule of Kabaddi World Cup 2016 has announced by the officials. India will face with 11 nations, and the first match of the tournament is on 7th October. India will face with South Korea, and the USA will take on Iran.

All the 12 teams divides to two groups of six teams

  • Group A: India, Australia, Bangladesh, England, South Korea and Argentina
  • Group B: Iran, USA, Thailand, Poland, Japan, and Kenya

Star Sports will broadcast all matches live in India and the event also broadcast in USA, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, EU and United Nations.

The first game will be between India and South Korea at will be given live on Star Sports and Hotstar at 8 PM IST.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here