The government of India introduced various services to increase the digital payments in the country through mobile wallets and other online payment systems. In this process, today the government has taken a step further and launched QR (quick response) code which known as BharatQR code. Through this people are allowed to pay for the items without swiping their plastic cards.

The BharatQR code is designed by the NPCI (National Payments Corporation of India) Visa and MasterCard.  Consumers are no need to scan different QR code at the merchant which provided by the various payment networks. Instead of that, they are allowed to scan the QR code through the acquiring bank mobile application.

Visa, MasterCard and Rupay Launches QR Code Payment System for Making Cashless Transactions in India

This payment acceptance solution works through MasterCard, Visa and RuPay accounts. The BharatQR code is formulated under the instructions of Reserve Bank of India. “There is an implied suggestion that this (payment) sector needs to free of licensing mechanism and once a set of criteria fixed, any number of entities meeting those standards should be allowed to function. We differ from this idea,” said by the RBI Deputy Governor R Gandhi.

To start the payment process through BharatQR code, first users have to link their credit/debit cards to the app and have to select the respective card during the payment. The app linked with MasterCard, Visa and RuPay platforms usually comes with inbuilt QR code reader.

Users have to link the card or bank accounts to the app as a one-time activity. While making the payment, users have to scan the BharatQR code through the mobile app. The amount you purchased will transfer from your account to merchant’s bank account. The BharatQR code is the second digital payment system successfully introduced by the government after Unified Payments Interface (UPI) based BHIM app.

How to download BHIM App and Process of using BHIM App Explained In Detail

The banks which included in this process are:
  • Axis Bank
  • Bank of Baroda
  • Bank of India
  • Citi Union Bank
  • Development Credit Bank
  • Karur Vysya Bank
  • HDFC Bank
  • ICICI Bank
  • IDBI Bank
  • RBL Bank
  • State Bank of India
  • Union Bank of India
  • Vijaya Bank
  • Yes Bank