Home >> India >> Govt Announces Rs. 90 Lakh Cash Reward for Winners in Paralympics

Govt Announces Rs. 90 Lakh Cash Reward for Winners in Paralympics

The Government of India has announced the cash reward for the medal winners in the Rio Paralympics 2016. According to the reports, the winners will receive a cash prize of Rs. 90 lakh. The winners in the Rio Paralympics are:

Gold Medal Winners

  • Mariyappan Thangavelu- High Jump
  • Devendra Jhajharia- Javelin Throw

Silver Medal Winner

  • Deepa Malik- Shot Put

Bronze Medal Winner

  • Varun Singh Bati- High Jump

For Gold medal winners will get the reward of Rs. 30 lakh each, for Silver Medal Rs.20 lakh and for Bronze Medal winner Rs. 10 lakh.

Rio Paralympics 2016 Closing Ceremony and Highlights 

The Paralympic games are held for every four years for the athletes who suffer from various disabilities. This year India has sent its largest delegation to the Rio Olympics 2016 and for the Paralympics, the government has sent 19 athletes which is the highest number till now.

Rio Paralympics was held in Rio de Janerio from 7th September to 18 September. The games are held in 10 categories. The Indian athletes have taken part in the high jump, javelin throw, shot put, club throw and shooting.

The Social Justice and Empowerment Minister Thawar Chand Gehlot will give the cash reward under the Awareness Generation and Publicity Scheme (AGP).

Devendra Jhajharia wins Javelin Gold which betters World Record at Rio Paralympics

“Indian para-athletes bagged impressive four medals at the Rio Paralympics 2016 and made history. The success of para-athletes has made India proud. The department has decided to give a cash prize of total Rs 90 lakh to the medal winners,” Gehlot said.

It was the India’s best ever performance in the Paralympics history by the skilled athletes like Thangavelu making a leap of 1.89 meters in the high jump and bagged gold medal. On the otherside, the Bhati jumped his best in the high jump of 1.86m finish as third and won the bronze medal.

Jhajharia clinched the gold medal in the javelin throw, and Malik bagged silver medal in shot put, become the first Indian women in the Paralympic history to win a medal.

Leave a Reply