Home Tags Vijaya Dashami

Tag: Vijaya Dashami

Happy Vijaya Dashami 2017 Importance & Significance: Why do we Celebrate Vijaya Dashami?

Happy Vijaya Dashami 2017: India is known as the land of festivals and celebrations. Several traditional festivals will be celebrated throughout the country, and one among them is Dussehra. Every region in India celebrates this festival with utmost devotion and respect. The celebrations mark the history and significance of Dussehra. This year Vijaya Dashami is going to celebrate on 11th October.

It is also known as Vijaya Dashami, Dasara, and Dashain. Different regions of India have different names of Dussehra. In North-India, it is called as Dussehra, Dashain in Nepal. Coming to South-India, it was called as Vijaya Dashami, Dasara. Though it has different names and different rituals, all the people across the country celebrate this auspicious festival with more joy.

Happy Dussehra 2017 Quotes, Messages and Wishes

Why do we celebrate Vijaya Dashami

Dasara marks the festivity of all age groups to celebrate. From children to elders, all will participate in the Dussehra celebrations. There are two important stories behind Vijaya Dashami celebrations. One story is associated with Lord Ram, and another is associated with Goddess Durga. The festival of Dashain signifies the victory of good over evil. The statutes of Ravana, Kumbhakarna and Indrajit, are burned signifying as Rama’s victory.

According to the great Hindu epic Ramayana, Lord Ram killed Ravana on the tenth day that is Dussehra. Ravana is said to have abducted Ram’s wife, Sita. The end of Ravana’s rule meant the end of bad and evil spirit as he was a demon by birth too.

Throughout Navaratri, Ramleela is organised in many northern parts of the country, and people enjoy the enactment of the play based on Ramayana.

Another legend connected to Goddess Durga is, the Mahishasura who is a demon king and more powerful. He was undefeatable by Lord Brahma, Lord Vishnu and Lord Siva. Therefore, all the gods create Goddess Durga to destroy Mahishasura. Goddess Durga, an avatar of Maha Sakthi, fought with the demon king and defeated him.

Her victory over Mahishasura is celebrated as Vijaya Dashami or Dussehra by many people following Hinduism.

In South India, the nine days preceding Dussehra have been equally divided for worshipping the nine avatars of Goddesses Durga. The women and the children of Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh and Karnataka arrange small statues like dolls, known as ‘Bommai (Bommala) Kolu’, on artificial steps and decorate the steps and the nearby place with beautiful lamps and flowers.

Another story from the epics connected to the origin of Dussehra from the greatest Hindu epic, Mahabharata. Kauravas banished Pandavas for 12 years and one year disguise because of Dharmaraj was defeated by Kauravas in the gambling.

Pandavas decided to live in exile in the woods for 12 years and one year in disguise. They have hidden their weapons under the Shami tree. For every one year in the ending, they visit the Shami tree and worship it and Goddess Durga. Pandavas fought over Kauravas and emerged victory. This has happened on Dashami. And ever since, the good had achieved victory over evil, and it is marked as Vijaya Dashami.

There are many other epic stories associated with the festival of Dussehra. No matter what the stories are, festivals in India convey the message of kindness, peace and love.

Happy Sharad Navratri 2017: Nine Colours of Shubh Navaratri History and Importance

Happy Sharad Navratri 2017: Navratri is a nine-day festival celebrating the victory of good over evil. The auspicious festival is going to start from 21st September and celebrated for nine days till September 30. On this day, devotees worship Goddess Durga with the utmost respect and devotion.

The Navratri festival comes twice in a year; one is Chaitra Navratri, and another one is known as Sharad Navaratri. Devotees worship the Goddess Durga, Goddess Saraswati, and Goddess Lakshmi in these nine Navaratri days. The Durga Puja festival celebrated by worshipping Goddess Durga and her nine different Avatars.

Navaratri 2017: Nine Forms of Goddess Durga

Navaratri derived from ‘Nav’ means nine and ‘Ratri’ means night in Sanskrit, hence Navaratri means nine nights of celebration. Navaratri puja starts with Shailaputri Maa (Bala Tripura Sundari Devi) puja and ends on a good note of Siddhidatri (Raja Rajeswari Devi) Puja.

In North India, Ramleela forms the highlight of Dussehra, while in South India and it is the victory of Goddess Durga over Mahishasura that is celebrated. In the state of West Bengal has its story connected to the festival, and in Mysore, the concept of Shami tree is centered.

The tenth day of the Hindu lunar month of Ashwin is celebrated as Vijaya Dashami or Dussehra and marks the end of the Maha Navaratri or the nine days of Durga Puja. The nine Navaratri colours are as follows:

  • First Day – Ghatasthapana / Pratipada ( 21 September ) – Red
  • Second Day – Dwitiya (22nd September 2017) – Royal Blue,
  • Third Day – Tritiya (23rd September 2017) – Yellow
  • Fourth Day – Chaturthi (24th September 2017) – Green,
  • Fifth Day – Panchami (25th September 2017) – Grey,
  • Sixth Day – Shashti (26th September 2017) – Orange,
  • Seventh Day – Saptami (27th September 2017) – White,
  • Eighth Day – Ashtami (28th September 2017 ) – Pink,
  • Ninth Day – Navami  (29th September 2017) – Sky Blue
  • Tenth Day - Dashami Dussehra (30th September 2017)

First Day-Pratipada (RED)

On the first day of Dussehra, the Shailaputri Maa (Bala Tripura Sundari Devi) idol done with bright red colour saree. She is the first avatar of Goddess Durga, the daughter of Mountains. On this day Ghatasthapana or the installation of the earthen pot is done.

Second Day- Dwitiya (ROYAL BLUE)

The second form of Goddess Durga is Bharmacharini (Annapurna Devi) the power, grace, and prosperity. The colour of this day is royal blue or peacock blue which is quite powerful.

Third Day- Tritiya (YELLOW)

On the third day of Navaratri, the Goddess with half moon on her forehead Chandra Ghanta Maa (Gayatri Devi) devoted. She represents the symbol of peace, beauty, and bravery.

Fourth Day- Chaturthi (GREEN)

Kushmanda Maa (Lalitha Devi), the fourth avatar of Goddess Durga, and devotees worship her on this day. As per mythology, Lalitha Devi is believed to be the creator of the entire world.

Fifth Day- Panchami (GREY)

The Skanda Mata (Lakshmi Devi), the fifth avatar of Durga Maa, believed to be one who demolished the demons. The grey symbolizes the vulnerability.

Sixth Day- Shashti (ORANGE)

This is the day the Durga puja kicks off with full joy in West Bengal and also most regions in the country. The Katyayani (Saraswathi Devi) Maa worshipped on this day. The orange colour indicates emotional strength, warm, and happiness.

Seventh Day- Saptami (WHITE)

Goddess Durga worshipped as Kaal Ratri (Durga Devi) on the seventh of Navaratri. The colour white represents purity, perfection, and completeness.

Eighth Day- Ashtami (PINK)

The eighth avatar of Durga Maa, Maha Gauri (Mahishasura Mardini) is worshipped on this day. Pink is the colour of the day which signifies tenderness, compassion, and beauty.

Ninth Day/Tenth Day- Navami / Dashami (SKY BLUE)

Siddhidatri (Raja Rajeswari Devi) worshipped as the ninth avatar of Durga Maa on this day. Our ancestors believed that this avatar has abundant supernatural powers. The sky blue colour represents peace.

Finally, Vijayadashami or Dasara celebrated on the tenth day.

Casino Utan Svensk Licens med trustly / bankID 2021