deemed university

The University Grant Commission has ordered some of the India’s Premier educational institutions like Maharishi Markandeshwar University, Symbiosis University, Christ University, and others to withdraw the ‘university’ title i.e., being used against their names and these universities could lose their ‘deemed-to-be-university status’ in due course if they fail to take steps towards the same.

The Supreme Court has released the list of 29 Universities that were listed in UGC’s notice. These varsities were given a deadline and been asked to submit the compliance by 4 PM today by e-mail.

UGC Suspends Engineering Degrees of 4 Deemed to be Universities 

UGC in its latest notice said, ” Necessary directions were issued by the UGC vide letter dated 10/13th November, 2017 to all the Institutions Deemed to be Universities to restrain from using the word ‘University’ and submit compliance within 15 days.” It added,” University is still using the word ‘University’ with its name and has not submitted the alternative proposal. This non-compliance of the orders of the Hon’ble apex court and directions of the UGC has been viewed ‘very seriously’ by the UGC. “

The release further stated, “It has been decided to give a last chance to the Institution Deemed to be University to immediately discontinue the name of the Deemed to be University using the word ‘University’ and submit an alternative proposal as requested vide above UGC letter.”

Universities listed in the Notice

  1. Lingaya’s Univemig, Nachauli, Old Faridabad – Jasana Road, Faridabad – 121 002, Haryana.
  2. Maharishi Markandeshwar university, Mullana, Ambala, Haryana.
  3. Christ University, Hosur Road, Bangalore – 560 029, Karnataka.
  4. Jain University, 9112, Dr. A.N. l&ishna Rao Road, V.V. Puram, Bangalore, Karnataka.
  5. Yenepoya University, Mangalore, Karnataka
  6. SYMBIOSIS International University, Senapati Bapat Road, Pune.411 004, Maharashtra.
  7. Gurukul Kangri Vishwavidyalaya, Haridwar-24g 404, Uttarakhand
  8. Punjab Engineering College, Sector- 12, Chandigarh-160 012
  9. National University of Educational Planning & Administration, 17 – B, Sri Aurbindo Marg, New Delhi 110 016.
  10. TERI School of Advanced Studies. Darbari Seth Block. Habitat Place. Lodhi Road. New Delhi- 110 003.
  11. L.E. Academy of Higher Education and Research, J.N.Medical College Campus, Belgaum(Karnataka)
  12. Manipal Academy of Higher Education, Madhav Nagar, Udupi, , Manipal-576 1O4, Karnataka.
  13. Kalinga Institute of Industrial Technology, AT/PO KllT Patia, Khurda, Bhubaneshwar-751 024, Orissa.
  14. Thapat Institute of Engineering & Technology, Thapar Technology Campus, Bhadson Road, Patiala- 1 47 004, Punjab
  15. Banasthali Vidyapeeth, Banasthali-304 022, Rajasthan.
  16. Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham, Ettimadai Post, Coimbatore-641 105, Tamil Nadu.
  17. S. Abdul Rahman Institute of Science & Technology, Vandalur, Chennai, Tamil Nadu.
  18. Meenakshi Academy of Higher Education and Research, No. 12, Vembuli Amman Koil Street, West K.K. Nagar, Chennai-600 078, Tamil Nadu.
  19. Ponnaiyah Ramajayam Institute of Science & Technology (PRIST), Yagappa Chavadi, Thanjavur – 614 904, Tamil Nadu
  20. Satyabhama Institute of Science and Technology, Jappiaar Nagar, Old Mamallpuram Road, Chennai – 6001 1 9,(T.N).
  21. Saveetha Institute of Medical and Technical Sciences, Post Box No. 6 No. 162, Poonamalle High Road, Velappanchavadi, Chennai-600 077 (Tamil Nadu).
  22. Shanmugha Arts, Science, Technology & Research Academy (SASTRA), Tirumalai Samudram, Thanjavur – 613 402, Tamil Nadu.
  23. R.M Institute of Science and Technology, 2, Veerasamy Street, West Mambalam, Chennai- 600 033, Tamil Nadu.
  24. Sri Ramachandra Medical College and Research Institute, 1, Ramachandra Nagar, Chennai-600 116.
  25. Vinayaka Mission’s Research Foundation, Sankari Mani Road, NH 47, Ariyanoor, Salem-636 308, Tamil Nadu.
  26. Central lnstitute of Higher Tibetan Studies, Sarnath, Varanasi-22l 007, Uttar Pradesh.
  27. Sam Higgin bottom Institute of Agriculture, Technology & Sciences, P.O. Agricultural Institute, Allahabad – 211 007. U.P.
  28. Shobit Institute of Engineering & Technology, Dulhera Marg, Roorkee Road, Meerut – 250 010 (U.P.)
  29. Ramakrishna Mission Vivekananda Educational and Research Institute. P.O, Belur Math, District Howrah – 711 202, West Bengal.

Follow Techfactslive on Facebook and Twitter 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here