CPJ award for Malini Subramaniam

On Monday, Malini Subramaniam, a freelance Indian Journalist and the former head of the International Committee of Red Cross was named as a winner of the prestigious 2016 CPJ International Press Freedom Award. She is one among four journalists who will be honoured with the award for their influential reportage of serious conflicts and violence in the society.

Earlier this year, i.e., in the month of February, Malini was attacked by a group of protest after her reports on human rights abuses and the conflict between Maoist groups and state bodies in the Bastar, Chhattisgarh. That was not just the first time such an incident has taken place in the area. The group of 20-30 people involved in the attack, hurled stones at her house and her car was damaged. They also asked her neighbors to join them in the protest. She was forced to move out of the state.

Indian Railways soon to Launch Online Grievance Redressal System for Retired Employees

Malini contributes impressive news articles to an online portal Scroll.in and till date, she has done a great work on the fake surrenders, attacks on journalist and tribal protests. The award from the Committee to Protect Journalists (CPJ) is an honour for her reportage which threatened her life in such incidents. The CPJ will award other three journalists from Egypt, Turkey, and EI Salvador.

In a statement CPJ Executive Director, Joel Simon said, “These four brave journalists have risked their freedom and their lives to report to their societies and the global community about critical news events.” Mahmoud Abou Zeid, a freelance photographer who is famously known as “Shawkan” from Egypt, Can Dündar, Editor-in-chief of the Turkish daily Cumhuriyet, and Óscar Martínez, an investigative reporter for El Faro in El Salvador are the three persons who will be awarded for revealing violence, conflicts or any such major issues of the society.

The Chief international correspondent and Anchor at CNN, Christiane Amanpour will be awarded the Burton Benjamin Memorial Award for her outstanding work and achievements in the field of journalism. The CPJ Chairman Sandra Mims Rowe said, “One of the most respected figures in journalism, Christiane Amanpour has reported from the world’s major hot spots and has interviewed many world leaders. She has consistently used her journalism and worked behind the scenes to defend the rights of journalists and uphold press freedom all over the world.”

Yu Yunicorn, with 4,000 mAh Battery Unveiled in India for Rs. 12,999/-

“We are proud to present her with the Burton Benjamin Memorial Award, which recognises a lifetime of dedication to her colleagues in the field,” he added. Finally, the International Press Freedom Awards will be awarded on Tuesday, November 22nd, 2016 at the Waldorf-Astoria, New York City.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here