Share on Facebook
Tweet on Twitter

Jai Mata Di…Chaitra Navratri or Vasant Navratri is a nine-day festival which is celebrated with great enthusiasm and faith in honour of Goddess Durga. Many people observe fast during the nine days of the festival. Chaitra Navratri 2017 will be observed on 28th March which ends on Sri Rama Navami, i.e., on 5th April. Hindus worship Maa Durga and her nine feminine avatars on the nine days of Chaitra Navratri. Each day has different Chaitra Navratri Significance that associated with Goddess Durga avatars.

As per the Hindu calendar, Navratri is celebrated four times in the year, but most of the people celebrate Chaitra and Sharad Navratri. The Chaitra Navratri Significance marks the end of spring season which generally falls in the month of April or March every year. The Chaitra Navratri 2017 begins from 28th March and continues up to 5th April 2017. The last day or ninth day is celebrated as Sri Rama Navami as the birthday of Lord Rama. Sharad Navratri starts during the month of September or October, and it culminates as Dussehra or Dasara or Vijaya Dashami.

Also Read Navaratri 2016: Nine Forms of Goddess Durga

The first day of Chaitra Navratri 2017 also coincides with festivals Gudi Padwa of Maharashtra and Ugadi of Andhra Pradesh & Telangana. People celebrate these Nine Days of Chaitra Navratri with chanting shlokas and observing fast with the utmost respect. Know the Chaitra Navratri Schedule and Chaitra Navratri 2017 Dates from here. Each day represents the significance Maa Durga avatars.

Day 1: 28th March 2017- Ghatsthapana, Shailaputri Puja

Goddes Shailaputri worshipped on the first day. The important ritual on this day is placing Ghatsthapana which marks the beginning of New Year. Ghatsthapana believed as an invocation of Goddess Durga, and it should be done only at subh mahurat time. It is also called as Kalash Sthapana or kalashsthapana which will be done at muhurat time from 8:26 to 10:24.

Day 2: 29th March 2017- Chandra Darshan, Brahmacharini Puja

On this day, people worship Goddess Brahmacharini. The second day of Navratri, Dwaitya marks the Chandra Darshan the first day after no moon day, i.e., Amavasya. Goddess Brahmacharini is believed as controlling Lord Mangal and provides good fortune, happiness and prosperity.

Day 3: 30th March 2017- Gauri Teej, Chandraghanta Puja

People worship Goddess Chandraghanta on the third day, and she also believed to govern the Shukra or Venus planet. According to the mythology, with the moon bell present on her forehead, she throws the spirits away that troubling her devotees. The day also referred to as Gauri Tritiya and Gangaur (which widely celebrated in Rajasthan and some parts of Uttar Pradesh, Haryana, Gujarat and Madhya Pradesh).

Day 4: 31st March 2017- Varad Vinayaka Chauth, Kushmanda Puja

On the fourth day, people worship Goddess Kushmanda, and she governs the God Sun. Kushmanda Puja and Varad Vinayaka Chauth will be performed on this day. Goddess Kushmanda worshipped with red flowers which believe that her favourite colours.

Day 5: 1st April 2017- Lakshmi Panchami, Skandamata Puja

The people worship Goddess Skandamata on the fifth day, and she believes in governing Planet Budha (Mercury) planet. The Chaitra Shukla Panchami is also known as Lakshmi Panchami which is celebrated as Kalpadi Tithi Goddess Lakshmi.

Day 6: 2nd April 2017- Yamuna Chhath, Katyayani Puja

Goddess Katyayani is worshipped on the sixth day of Navratri, and she governs the Bṛhaspati (Jupiter) planet. People offer roses to worship Goddess Katyayani. The day also refers to the birth anniversary of Goddess Yamuna and the day is celebrated as Yamuna Jayanti.

Day 7: 3rd April 2017- Maha Saptami, Kalaratri Puja

People worship Goddess Kalaratri of Chaitra Navratri 2017. Goddess Kalaratri or Goddess Shubhankari is worshipped with Jasmine flowers on this day, and she believed to govern the planet Shani (Saturn). She is one of the most powerful avatars of Goddess Parvati and believed to remove evil-doers of devotees.

Day 8: 4th April 2017- Durga Maha Ashtami, Mahagauri Puja

The eighth day of Chaitra Navaratri 2017 and people worshipped Goddess Mahagauri and governed the Rahu (Neptune) planet. Devotees fast on this day, and it also marks the Sandhi Puja which has special significance.

Day 9: 5th April 2017- Rama Navami, Siddhidatri Puja

Goddess Siddhidatri is worshipped on the last day of Navratri and believed to govern planet Ketu (Uranus). Chaitra Navratri 2017 Parana done with the end of Navami Tithi concludes with the beginning of Dashami Tithi. Lord Rama was born on Navami Tithi and the day celebrated as Ram Navami across India.